Access on-boarding feature is used to help you follow up the on-boarding process properly and have a clear overview over user access to assigned applications.
For example, when you on-board an employee, you assign to them a set of resources. But depending on the resource for some resources there is a provisioning integration which will be triggered when a new user is added to company and an account will be created automatically. Other resources do not support provisioning so when you assign a resource to a user, the account will not be created automatically which means it must be created manually.
Access on-boarding can be used as a checklist for assigned applications. In order for it to work properly, you will have to mark this application if it supports provisioning (meaning if there is an integration set for it in the company) or not (if you have to create an account manually) or if there is no need for creating any account (in cases when there are no separate accounts for each user, but all users have access through the same account.
When adding any resource, make sure to set the Provisoining support status in resource settings. Go to your company and then to the resources page. Click EDIT on the resource you wish to modify.
Click Manage on the Settings card.
Under Provisioning support choose an option:
- No user management (if you are sharing one resource which is set globally, you can choose this option - for example if all users will use the same Twitter account to login)
- Users handled manually (if you are sharing a resource where each user will have a different account, but you do not have a provisioning set for this application, you can choose this option - for example Slack, where each user must be created or removed manually)
- Users handled by AppsCo automatically (If you are sharing a resource for which you already have a provsioning integration set where users are automatically provisioned from AppsCo to this application and their accounts are created or eventually removed automatically, you can use this option - for example Jira or Pipedrive if you have set up an integration).
We suggest you set this option for each resource the first time you add or update them so you can automate the process.
Click Save when you're done.
Now, the next time you add new users to your company and assign them resources you will be able to see in which resources the account will be created automatically and in which you need to do it manually.
After you have shared the resources to users, go to Access on-boarding page.
You will see a list of users for which you have unresolved on-boarding actions - where account must be created manually. You can click on the SHOW button on the card to view the list of resources. The list will be visible until you resolve it manually. It is only a reminder/checklist of the required actions. When you have for example created this user on Slack, you can resolve this case.
Select the case you wish to resolve and click on Resolve selected. You can also export the list by clicking on the Export button on top.
If you remove a user from your company, Access on-boarding feature will provide a list of the resources where this user's account needs to be removed manually.
When you remove a user from company, he/she will no longer have access to any of the resources shared to him/her. But the account on this application will remain unless it's removed through provisioning or manually. This is why you can use the Access on-boarding as a checklist and have better control over access to different applications.
If you have any questions, please send us an e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org.